Getting Police Reports in Maryland: New Law

Maryland has a new law that went into effect this month providing for a couple of additional hoops for car accident lawyers to jump through to get police reports in Maryland. The Maryland Transportation Article Section 20-110 sets forth new requirements in Maryland to get a police report within 60 days of the accident. The requesting party must provide (1) a valid driver’s license, (2) proof of your legitimate reason to obtain the police report, and (3) a notarized certification that for 60 days after the accident or incident you will not use the police report for commercial solicitation.

The bottom line is that you just can’t go grabbing police reports because you think you might find something interesting in there.

Posted in: and
Updated:
Contact Information